Skip to content

AWWA Government Affairs Update: September 29, 2016

To: AWWA government affairs contacts
From: Tommy Holmes, Legislative Director
Date: Sept. 29, 2016


Action requested: Please e-mail, call or meet with your members of Congress who serve on the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure or the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works and urge them to support funding for the SRF and WIFIA in a water resources bill under negotiation


Background: As you probably know, the House and Senate have passed their own versions of a Water Resources Development Act (WRDA). The Senate version, S. 2848, designates $100 million for the state revolving loan (SRF) program to assist communities like Flint, Mich., in which an emergency has been declared. It would also provide $70 million for the newer Water Infrastructure Finance and Innovation Act loan program (WIFIA) for states in which an emergency has been declared and for any other type of project that qualifies for a WIFIA loan. This is a real breakthrough. So far, Congress has only provided $4.4 million the past two years for EPA to set up WIFIA administration and no money for loans.


The House of Representatives has passed its own WRDA bill, H.R. 5303, which designates $170 million for water infrastructure needs, but does not designate the SRF or WIFIA for these funds. We believe those are the intended programs, but the final bill must say so. That money was in an amendment accepted on the floor of the House Wednesday. It was deliberately broad in order to pass muster with parliamentarians. If it had talked directly about drinking water programs, it was have gone into areas outside the jurisdiction of the committee bringing the bill to the House floor.


Conferees will be drawn from the committees mentioned at the top of this alert to produce a single bill that will go back to the House and Senate for a yea or nay vote without amendment. In addition, the Senate bill provides for the immediate release of funds, while the House version is an authorization that would require an additional step via the appropriations process before funds are available. That’s another reason to prefer the Senate language on this.


Congress has gone into recess for the November elections, but members and staff will begin actual negotiations very, very soon. This recess, while they are back in their home districts or states meeting with constituents, is a prime time to press our points in person. If that is not feasible, e-mails and calls can work. Attached is a letter template to assist your efforts.


Below are rosters of the two committees. Please look them over and see if a senator or House member from your state is on them and let them know what they need to do to help reinvest in the nation’s water infrastructure this fall. The Senate roster has embedded links to take you to their websites. You can find House member sites via





Tommy Holmes

Legislative Director

American Water Works Association

1300 Eye St. NW

Suite 701W

Washington, DC  20005 USA

Office 202.628.8303 | Direct 202.326.6128

Mobile 202.306.9530 |



House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee



Bill Shuster, PA, Chairman

Don Young, AK

John J. Duncan, Jr., TN, Vice Chairman

John L. Mica, FL

Frank A. LoBiondo, NJ

Sam Graves, MO

Candice S. Miller, MI

Duncan Hunter, CA

Eric A. “Rick” Crawford, AR

Lou Barletta, PA

Blake Farenthold, TX

Bob Gibbs, OH

Richard L. Hanna, NY

Daniel Webster, FL

Jeff Denham, CA

Reid J. Ribble, WI

Thomas Massie, KY

Mark Meadows, NC

Scott Perry, PA

Rodney Davis, IL

Mark Sanford, SC

Rob Woodall, GA

Todd Rokita, IN

John Katko, NY

Brian Babin, TX

Cresent Hardy, NV

Ryan A. Costello, PA

Garret Graves, LA

Mimi Walters, CA

Barbara Comstock, VA

Carlos Curbelo, FL

David Rouzer, NC

Lee M. Zeldin, NY

Mike Bost, IL



Peter A. DeFazio, OR, Ranking Member

Eleanor Holmes Norton, DC

Jerrold Nadler, NY

Corrine Brown, FL

Eddie Bernice Johnson, TX

Elijah E. Cummings, MD

Rick Larsen, WA

Michael E. Capuano, MA

Grace F. Napolitano, CA

Daniel Lipinski, IL

Steve Cohen, TN

Albio Sires, NJ

Donna F. Edwards, MD

John Garamendi, CA

André Carson, IN

Janice Hahn, CA

Richard M. Nolan, MN

Ann Kirkpatrick, AZ

Dina Titus, NV

Sean Patrick Maloney, NY

Elizabeth H. Esty, CT

Lois Frankel, FL

Cheri Bustos, IL

Jared Huffman, CA

Julia Brownley, CA





Senate Environment and Public Works Committee



James M. Inhofe (Chairman)

David Vitter

John Barrasso

Shelley Moore Capito

Mike Crapo

John Boozman

Jeff Sessions

Roger F. Wicker

Deb Fischer

Mike Rounds

Dan Sullivan



Barbara Boxer (Ranking Member)

Thomas R. Carper

Benjamin L. Cardin

Bernard Sanders

Sheldon Whitehouse

Jeff Merkley

Kirsten Gillibrand

Cory A. Booker

Edward Markey








  • PA-AWWA Recognizes Our Gold Sponsors

    Partnership for Safe Water


  • Public Notification Providers

Find us on Facebook
Back to Top